Me, Myself and I

This morning I woke up to my new favorite channel, CentricThey were playing the Hip Hop classic “Me, Myself and I” by De La Soul. During this time in Hip Hop I loved De La, actually the whole Native Tongue Posse (De La, A Tribe Called Quest, Queen Latifah, Monie Love, The Jungle Brothers, Prince Paul…) As I looked at the video for the first time I realized how ‘crazy’ those dudes looked. Their clothes, their hair…Wow. I had to chuckle to myself because I realized I looked JUST like them at that time. Crazy. What was I thinking?! Well, actually I was thinking “This is me and I don’t have to do the norm because I’m ME, damn it! ”  Going against the grain has never been something I’ve had a problem with. I will admit that it’s not always easy to be yourself. Unusual things often scare and/or confuse folks. But even at the height of my weirdness I had homegirls and boyfriends that accepted me for me. Even back then I figured out that most of the time opinions from random people don’t matter.  If the loved ones in your corner are digging you, why care about what “John Q Public” has to say?  I’m not saying as long as you have people that like you it’s cool to act a-natural-ass-fool to everybody else. Haha I’m just saying that there are times when you have to unplug from the Matrix and walk your own walk.

Currently, I’m working on professional projects that requires me breaking away from the white-bread world that I’m experienced in. Honestly, I think I’m a little crazy for taking such gambles but I also know that I wasn’t on the path that I belong on. It takes a lot of strength to be yourself and  follow your dreams. I’d rather face those fears than to drown in a sea “What if”.  

 This entry goes to the whole Native Tongue Posse and everyone else that has the courage to jump out of the box.

De La Soul – Me, Myself and I (performed on the Arsenio Hall Show)

Jungle Brothers – Doin’ Our Own Thang (Remix)

De La Soul – Buddy

Queen Latifah feat. Monie Love – Ladies First


A Tribe Called Quest – Award Tour

2 thoughts on “Me, Myself and I

Leave a Reply

